Barley, Hordeum vulgare, is a staple grain that is the fourth largest cereal crop grown in the world. An ancient grain that grew wild throughout Eurasia, the remains of cultivated barley has been dated back to 17,000 BCE.


Roasted barley is a popular coffee alternative in Italy where it is known as “Caffé d’orzo”. Every coffee bar in Italy serves orzo brewed like cappuccinos or coffee!


Barley contains antioxidants known as proanthocyanidins (OPCs) that are water-soluble and readily absorbable from a cup of Teeccino. You’ve probably read about the lower rate of heart disease in France despite their high consumption of saturated fats. The “French Paradox” has been attributed to OPCs that are found in red wine and some foods like barley.


Although barley also contains gluten, brewed Teeccino is gluten free as verified by independent laboratory tests at the University of Nebraska, the top gluten testing laboratory in the US. Organic barley used in Teeccino is grown both in the US and Europe.


Expert Analysis Shows That Brewed Teeccino Has No Detectable Gluten At 5ppm

Since Teeccino’s company mission is to help create optimal health for our customers and our planet, it was very important for us to understand the relationship between gluten in barley and brewed Teeccino. We went to the top gluten-testing laboratory in the country, The University of Nebraska, to have the most sensitive gluten-detecting test performed on Teeccino.
The FDA has set a standard of no more that 20 parts per million of gluten in a food or drink that is marketed as gluten-free. The University of Nebraska is able to test down to the level of 5 parts per million. No detectable gluten was found in brewed Teeccino at 5 parts per million.
Susan Hefle, Ph.D., who was the co-director of the Food Allergy and Resource Program at the University of Nebraska, wrote the following opinion. “It is my expert opinion that since glutens are alcohol-soluble, an aqueous solution, such as brewed tea, should not contain gluten even if the source material that was brewed did contain gluten”.

Follow This Brewing Tip If You Are Gluten Sensitive:

For gluten sensitive customers, we highly recommend using a paper filter in a drip coffee maker to brew Teeccino so that no Teeccino grounds can leak into the brewed liquid. Or drink Teeccino Tee-bags! Test results show that no gluten is detectable at 5ppm with the Tee-bags too. Ingesting small particles of Teeccino could cause sensitivity to gluten. Tea bag paper and coffee paper filters are the best means of preventing grounds from going through the filter during brewing.

If you suffer from Celiac disease, it is important to closely watch the reaction of your own body when drinking Teeccino. Although most gluten-sensitive people report drinking Teeccino without problem, we have had reports from some people that Teeccino has caused a reaction. Because some people still seem to be sensitive to Teeccino despite the evidence from the testing, we recommend that these people buy Teeccino Dandelion Herbal Coffees that are made without barley.